About Common Core State Standards



What are the CCSS?

The CCSS are rigorous, internationally-benchmarked English language arts and mathematics standards that are designed to ensure that students leave school with the knowledge and skills needed to succeed in college and careers.  The CCSS are NOT a national or state curriculum nor are they federally mandated.  They were developed by a team of experts, educators and stakeholders in a process led by the National Governors Association and the Council of Chief State School Officers.  Since 2010, the CCSS have garnered support from business, professional, advocacy, and policy stakeholders, and also have the support of national parent organizations.  For information on academic standards in other content areas, please visit the Academic Standards homepage.

Academic standards are expectations for what students should know and be able to do in kindergarten through 12th grade.   The Common Core State Standards articulate this knowledge and skills in the areas of English language arts and mathematics.

CCSS What you need to know  English Language Arts

Example English language arts CCSS from grade 3:

Determine the main idea of a text; recount the key details and explain how they support the main idea (Informational Reading, 3.2)

CCSS What you need to know  Mathematics

Example mathematics CCSS from grade 6:

Fluently add, subtract, multiply, and divide multi-digit decimals using the standard algorithm for each operation. (Number System, 6.3)  


Timeline of Key WI CCSS Events

UPDATED Wisconsin and the CCSS: Myths and Facts

Common Core Overview Video

Letter from State Superintendent on CCSS Implementation

CCSS Press Release



For questions about this information, contact Connie Ellingson (608) 267-9155